A poetic prayer for a hero, a poem for Nicola Choi by Tracy Diane Miller

Tracy is by every definition a hero … peaceful, patient, calm, rational and always so supportive …i don’t know if I am a hero. I am capable of making rash comments and still so–I think because I am young–but that is no excuse. I have so much to learn… and in meeting Tracy (and Stacy!) I have learned so much about being a better person, about keeping your head up, high and professional, about being above the unprofessional and bigoted and bullies. To stand up for what I believe in…that minority voices shouldn’t be silenced, that minority lives matter just much as the next person and that should be emphasised in our society- that is nowhere near as progressive as it thinks it is. Thank you Tracy!

lifeisawalkingshadow

A poetic prayer for a hero, a poem for Nicola Choi by Tracy Diane Miller

As children we learn of heroes
Who fight the good fight
Endowed with special powers
To answer the call both day and night

As we grow older
We realize heroes live among us everyday
At great sacrifice to their own personal well-being
They battle injustice to keep it away

I have met many heroes
My mother was my first
Without her I would be nothing
For my love of learning she fostered my thirst

Then there is Nicola
She hasn’t been in my life for very long
Her voice is inspirational
Her passion for others remains so strong

Nicola has no special powers
She has no xray vision and she cannot fly
But she is the definition of a hero
For she gives her heart to others is why

View original post

Leave a Reply

